imitone community

Building a universal, human-friendly music interface. ...But first we have to fix the bugs!

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Having trouble with imitone? Hit send on any Error Reports it creates, or use the in-app "send feedback" button.

#26 2015-11-08 16:56:54

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Yragael, i find a way to go above F7 : editing midi range from pg.ini located in imitone folder ! Put 110 for B7  (but larger range means also more CPU...)

Offline

#27 2015-11-09 05:01:43

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

No i'm wrong the problem is the micro (high pitch not detected) ! It works only with sounds coming from the pc (see with audacity generated sounds from 3000 Hz). Need a better micro detecting high pitches

Offline

#28 2015-11-09 15:52:55

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Handmusician wrote:

I'll try again 0.61a, i thought 0.7 better for whistling, thanks Yragael.
Already looking forward the next update lol, it's so cool to control any instruments from voice !
There's still false notes sometimes (much better than 0.7 though) and not good when singing fastly.
Is there a software that can transform notes to chord ? I'd like to control styles of my arranger keyboard.

I use ableton with the midi chords device it is easy, add scale device for being always on the right note.

i guess other daws also have such things ;)

I found a problem with the pitch bend function which tend to make it awful to use right now.

I like use pitchbend range of +12 -12
I tried with previous versions [0.7 and before] I can edit the xml config file to change 2 into 12 save and exit.

THIS IS NOT POSSIBLE ANYMORE WITH 0.8.0 :(

ok i could and will give it a try with pitchbend range +2 -2 on my vsts and see how it goes.

Thank you HandMusician ;)

Offline

#29 2015-11-10 05:37:35

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Ok i'll see that. Thank you Yragael :-) have you seen the last kickstarter post (saturday) ?

Offline

#30 2015-11-10 10:59:30

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

last kickstarter post no, i'm gonna check that ;) thank you

Offline

#31 2015-11-11 12:39:43

Evan
creator of imitone
From: Ames, IA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Hey, Guys --

Sorry, I've been dragging my feet on checking the forums.

That whistling doesn't work well is news to me!  Recorded samples would be great as usual.  Note that F7 is actually the maximum note by default:  If you need to go higher, you can configure the startup range in the "pg.ini" file that ships with imitone.  Note numbers correspond to MIDI notes.


Yragael -- can you elaborate on this:

Detecting lo pitch for hi voice rendering an octave lower than it should do.


Handmusician --

Is there a software that can transform notes to chord ? I'd like to control styles of my arranger keyboard.

This is a pretty common MIDI effect; I think you can find plug-ins for it and I know it's built into many DAWs such as Ableton.  Do you think this should be a function of imitone?

Offline

#32 2015-11-11 12:43:04

Evan
creator of imitone
From: Ames, IA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Whoops -- didn't see this second page.

Handmusician -- it's possible the problem relates to an aggressive high-pass filter I'm using right now.  imitone works on a downsampled 10khz signal right now, and I filter frequencies above about 2.5khz...

Yragael -- I'll look into restoring the pitch-bend range function in the next update.  Last I checked, though, holding CONTROL while altering the range still worked fine as documented in the README.  Legato doesn't seem to kick in during pitchbend as it should, though...

Offline

#33 2015-11-11 13:49:01

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Hi Evan !
I don't think it's the high-pass filter, I've tested with a better micro and it works. but i just see that the other micro works too if the sounds volume is higher. It was just the micro sensitivity the problem.
I like to play directly on my keyboard without using daw to prevent latency, if you can add chord option i'll appreciate :-) i find a way to do that though but it's unsteady for now and i can't do chords like Cm C7...
Anyway it's not urgent !

Last edited by Handmusician (2015-11-11 13:53:29)

Offline

#34 2015-11-11 14:39:07

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Hi Evan glad to see you here,

it looks like the input volume is lower than before now.
Or maybe it is the sensitivity.
on 0.61a or 0.7 when I whistle I can put the mic onto my throat at max volume it takes the notes in imitone. i do this to avoid breath noise on mic [thinking about pop filter soon]
on 0.8 i cant, so i have to sing directly in front of the mic and imitones takes the notes but it is then rendering short ones only on almost every.

When I talk about pitch bend range it is not about the transpose function in imitone.

I quote the xml file for a brighter vision [my english skill is guilty ;) ]

config.xml wrote:

<Pitch mode="0" range="12" tolerance="0.25" transpose="0"/>

range=2 by default

best to you all

Last edited by Yragael (2015-11-11 14:39:51)

Offline

#35 2015-11-11 17:07:49

Evan
creator of imitone
From: Ames, IA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Handmusician:  The upcoming "hold mode" is likely to be very useful for chords and other steady notes.  Pitch guide also help hold things in place...

Yragael:  Yep, good eye.  Input volume is measured a little differently and it doesn't really represent the maximum well, currently.

When you up the pitch bend range, you need to up the "tolerance" as well!  Try setting that to 12.25 or so.  Alternately, just hold "control" while cycling the note mode in imitone to set a 36-semitone bend range.

If you can upload a sample it would be very helpful in figuring out what's gone wrong with the tracking for you.

Offline

#36 2015-11-11 18:02:06

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Happy you'll build this mode !
Master Evan hope imitone and your name will be registered in the best musical world app !
Your will to make imitone the best voice to midi of ever becoming a reality !

Admire your perfectionism spirit, sure will leads to magic
Cheers

Last edited by Handmusician (2015-11-11 18:07:00)

Offline

#37 2015-11-12 10:03:53

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

I join handmusician for the kind words :D

i'll send you  some wav files on the incoming weekend.

Best

Offline

#38 2015-11-13 11:55:21

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

double post but for good reason.

OK I tried some whistling today with 0.7 and 0.8 WITHOUT pitchbend function.

I was on with the old Habits dear Evan.

It is really working like a charm with every other modes.
pitch range full - rabbit - legato is nice for whistle.
Ok by waiting for a solid pitchbend function


So pitchbend is the devil to chase for you now I guess ;)

Best to you all

Offline

#39 2015-11-13 17:12:19

Evan
creator of imitone
From: Ames, IA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Thanks for the feedback, fellas!

(But in the interest of keeping organized this would be a good topic for "fine tuning" or "bug reports" next time...)

Offline

#40 2015-11-14 01:53:54

Yragael
Power Tester
From: Belgium
Registered: 2014-05-30
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

roger that ;)

Offline

#41 2015-11-22 16:11:33

jaimarec
Member
Registered: 2015-09-20

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

Fantastic! Anyone have any suggestions for Logic Pro X instruments that are most effective with imitone ?

Offline

#42 2015-12-15 12:39:13

Evan
creator of imitone
From: Ames, IA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: imitone Beta 0.7.0

A lot of the GarageBand and Logic instruments don't support articulations by default, which is frustrating.  That said, I've had a lot of fun with the orchestral instruments (wind, brass, strings) and many of the synth leads, organs and basses.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB