imitone community

Building a universal, human-friendly music interface. ...But first we have to fix the bugs!

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Having trouble with imitone? Hit send on any Error Reports it creates, or use the in-app "send feedback" button.

#1 2015-02-10 15:39:20

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

How to use imitone without daw to play midi

I found bassmidi driver on the net. I installed it and from the control panel add soudfont sf2 to port A or B. Now each time i open imitone i just have to set Bassmidi port A or port B in output (to device...) and so imitone become a standalone voice to midi ^^ bassmidi supports midi controllers (pitch bend brightness...)

Offline

#2 2015-02-10 16:07:38

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: How to use imitone without daw to play midi

Just one problem : we can't choose the instrument from the sf2 (some have 128 in one), imitone play only with the first one (piano usually). If we want another one we have to add a specific sf2 instrument (harp, violin...). I wonder if a program change control in imitone could be useful in that case (if it's easy to add) ? Just a suggestion ^^

Last edited by Handmusician (2015-02-10 16:35:32)

Offline

#3 2015-02-12 08:31:18

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: How to use imitone without daw to play midi

Based on and greater than bassmidi : coolsoft virtualmidisynth 1.12.1.0 (most recent update). More settings and better sounds and you can use it by default to play midi files with windows media player. Just set the buffer to 0 in advanced options.

Offline

#4 2015-02-12 10:40:55

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: How to use imitone without daw to play midi

Demo with alto sax pitch glide on :
bad_romance_imitone_audacity_real_time_recording_with_coolsoft_virtualsynth_2.mp3

Demo with whistle (my self sf2 creation with polyphony) pitch glide and bend on :
bad_romance_imitone_audacity_real_time_recording_with_coolsoft_virtualsynth.mp3

Offline

#5 2015-05-16 11:32:01

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: How to use imitone without daw to play midi

I made an windows appli from fluidsynth another sf2 synthesizer it works well (but unfortunately fluidsynth don't support brightness harmonic content and some other controllers), you can test it if you want (needs asio4all : http://www.asio4all.com/) :
https://mon-partage.fr/f/IPMHKV87/

You can play 2 voices at the same time (dual voices from 2 different sf2 if you want) and applied reverb chorus...

Offline

#6 2015-05-28 09:56:51

Handmusician
Power Tester
From: North France
Registered: 2015-01-27

Re: How to use imitone without daw to play midi

And now my second version of playmid, a router 16 channels (playing 16 voices at the same time with a different sf2 for each channel, split notes, activate/desactivate many channels at the same time...). Need Asio4all.

http://www.asio4all.com/
https://mon-partage.fr/f/C1HC3V0U/

Screenshot :
playmidshow.jpg

Last edited by Handmusician (2015-05-29 08:00:14)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB