imitone community

Building a universal, human-friendly music interface. ...But first we have to fix the bugs!

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Having trouble with imitone? Hit send on any Error Reports it creates, or use the in-app "send feedback" button.

#1 2014-12-12 04:02:12

donnek

Linux port

Update #20 asks people to let you know if they'd like a Linux port.  I would!  Unfortunately, although some Windows music programs will work through WINE, this one won't, and basically churns around going nowhere - this is on Ubuntu 14.04.  So a Linux port would be v nice.

#2 2014-12-25 05:50:36

troyt

Re: Linux port

+1, would be very nice to have imitone on Linux.

I have some experience in compiling VST's on Linux, which should not be too hard to achieve. VST2 Steinberg SDK headers are the only thing needed, apart from the things you use for GUI etc.
I see you use Portaudio and SDL, should be really not a big problem then. Would be happy to beta test ;-)

thank you for creating such a fine piece of software.

#3 2014-12-30 12:00:21

Evan
creator of imitone
Website

There has been a lot of interest in the Linux port, and I've bumped it up my priority list.  I'll need to get my old Linux box dusted off, and it's possible I might not be able to do the port until the end of January due to an upcoming convention...  But as you've observed it's not a hard port; I've had the engine running on Linux before and can probably make it a weekend project.  :)

#4 2015-03-30 16:30:02

glanzel

+1, would like to have imitone on Linux too.

is there already some progress in the process of porting ?

thanks g

#5 2015-04-08 12:30:14

Evan
creator of imitone
Website

Hey, Glanel --

imitone is written on a portable codebase that has been compiled on PC, Mac, Linux, iOS and Android at different points in time.  The port won't be too hard -- I just need to dust off some old code and make some careful choices about runtime compatibility...

#6 2015-06-14 20:24:04

Tbot