imitone community

Building a universal, human-friendly music interface. ...But first we have to fix the bugs!

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Having trouble with imitone? Hit send on any Error Reports it creates, or use the in-app "send feedback" button.

#1 2014-06-11 10:48:00

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

* 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

Problem description
----------------------
imitone now successfully installing on Toshiba Equium Laptop. However, after entering the software key code, imitone is slow to fully display a window, and continues to run but responds slowly with changes to the display when any feature selection buttons in imitone are used.

Note: This slow response also applied to the text-like black & white initial window where the Key code is requested. (BTW, I could not discern the cursor position when pointing at the Key code entry field.)

When in an idle state (both prior to selecting and using any I/O devices, and also at any time when using the devices), imitone is showing a constantly high CPU usage of about 66%.  Meanwhile, the Windows 7 Resource Monitor is showing a continuous CPU usage of about 83% by imitone.exe for both CPUs in this laptop.  Nothing else is running under Windows at the same time. Despite that, imitome does appear to be working, albeit slowly.

The only major issue I have discovered is that, when the Expression (Peach) button is selected, the MIDI volume seems to drop to too low a level for my hardware synth (Yamaha VL-70m) compared with the pre-expression selection level. (Note: I may Post a report about this to the Forum under a new and appropriate Subject heading if I can't find a way around this problem).

I might also add that the graphical display of the imitone GUI is rather basic on this setup too: looks to be at quite a low resolution!




Screen capture of imitone display here:

imitone_0p5p1c_Beta_Idle_but_high_CPU_usage.jpg


Resource Monitor display here:
imitone_0p5p1c_Beta_Idle_High_CPU_-_Resource_Monitor.jpg


imitone log.txt file is here:
log.txt

==========================================================================

Additional information
-------------------------
System:    Toshiba Equium E350-10L laptop
Operating  System: Windows 7 SP1 64-bit
Processor: Intel Pentium Dual Core CPU T2370 at 1.37 GHz
Graphics:  Monitor
    Name    Generic PnP Monitor on Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family
    Current Resolution    1440x900 pixels      Work Resolution    1440x856 pixels
    Monitor Width    1440              Monitor Height    900
    Monitor BPP    32 bits per pixel    Monitor Frequency    60 Hz
    Driver version    8.15.10.1930
                   
  Graphics Product  [1] Intel® GM965
       3D Acceleration Yes            Hardware Transform & Lighting Support  Yes
       Video Memory 359.0 MB
       Vertex Shader Support  4.0        Pixel Shader Support  4.0
       Microsoft DirectX* Version  11.0

Supported graphics APIs and features:
      Intel® Graphics Chipsets
      DirectX* 9.0
      OpenGL*  1.5
      OpenCL*  No
      Shader mode support 4                       

==========================================================================

Roger

Last edited by Lee46 (2014-06-11 10:49:10)

Offline

#2 2014-06-11 11:29:13

Evan
developer
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

For some reason imitone is using the software renderer on your computer instead of the graphics chip.  This makes it eat a ton of CPU while taking ages to render its graphics -- which are low-resolution because anti-aliasing isn't supported.

---------------------------------------------
    GL version: 1.1.0
    GL vendor: Microsoft Corporation
    GL renderer: GDI Generic
    No GLSL support...
GL Extensions: GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_paletted_texture
   Warning: targets unsupported.
   Warning: multisampling unsupported.
   Warning: shaders unsupported.
   Warning: blend equations unsupported.
   Warning: vertex buffers unsupported.
   Note: vertex arrays unsupported.
---------------------------------------------

I'm not sure exactly why your Intel GM chip isn't kicking in.  I did some things to reduce the likelihood of fall-back to the GDI driver, but it looks like they didn't take for you...

Let's try a modification to the pg.ini file in your imitone install folder.
Delete this line: #set graphics.debug 1
Replace it with: #set graphics.screen_multisample 0


The volume thing is because your maximum volume setting (the upper needle on the volume bar) is higher up than your voice.  Try lowering it, and maybe shut off auto-calibration by clicking the little orange light.

Offline

#3 2014-06-11 13:20:59

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

(1) I made the change you suggested but I now only get an empty Windows window frame with imitone in the title bar - imitone CPU usage is now about 50%.


Here is the pg.ini file I was using:
======================================
! If you're having graphics issues, deleting this line may help.

aa on

! Choose the API and device for imitone to use, as seen in imitone.
! These names are case-insensitive and may use * and ? wildcards.
! Windows users may want to use "Windows WDM-KS" or "ASIO" APIs for low latency.

set imitone.audio_api    "My preferred API"
set imitone.audio_device "My preferred device"

! "set midi_virtual 1" tells imitone to use virtual device mode.
! if midi_virtual is 0, imitone looks for a device matching the name.

set imitone.midi_virtual  1
set imitone.midi_device "*imitone*"

! You can safely ignore the rest of this...

#set graphics.vao        0
#set graphics.screen_multisample 0
#set graphics.width      500
#set graphics.height     550
#set graphics.fullscreen 0
#set graphics.resizable  0
#set graphics.showcursor 1
#set graphics.title "imitone"
#set audio.dummy 1
framerate 60
vsync on
set imitone.preview 0
set imitone.feedback 1
set imitone.bulletin 1

imitone.key_entry
======================================

And here is the log.txt file:
======================================
Binary: C:\Program Files (x86)\interactopia\imitone beta 0.5.1c\imitone.exe
Log folder: C:\Users\PC Admin\AppData\Roaming/com.interactopia.imitone
---------------
Active Memory: 0 B
---------------
---------------
Instantiating game...
Initializing Console...
  initializing with pg.ini
Console is GO.
Initializing Program...
Initializing Universe...
Initializing Clock...
Initializing Random...
Initializing Storage...
Initializing Graphics...
char bits = 8
Text is GO.
Graphics initializing...
Displays:
  #0: 1440x900, 60hz
Built with SDL v.2.0.0
Running with SDL v.2.0.0
Initialized GLEW
---------------------------------------------
    GL version: 2.0.0 - Build 8.14.10.1930
    GL vendor: Intel
    GL renderer: Intel 965/963 Graphics Media Accelerator
    GLSL version: 1.10  - Intel Build 8.14.10.1930
GL Extensions: GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_ARB_multitexture GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_NV_blend_square GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_3DFX_texture_compression_FXT1 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
   Warning: multisampling unsupported.
- building shader -
...Shader uniform 0: transform
...Shader uniform 1: color
- shader built -
- building shader -
...Shader uniform 0: transform
...Shader uniform 1: color
...Shader uniform 2: texture
- shader built -
   Note: vertex arrays unsupported.
---------------------------------------------
Screen FBO: #0, size 500x550
Stereo: 0
Graphics are GO.
Initializing Audio...
Initializing Player...
Sticks:
MIDI Devices:
|-1: `UM-ONE' in
|-0: `Microsoft MIDI Mapper' out
|-2: `Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth' out
|-3: `UM-ONE' out
    (showing preloader)
Initializing GUI...
GUI is GO.
Initializing Network...
Initializing Scripts...
Registering script bindings...
All modules are GO.
---------------------------------
PlaidGadget / Project: Savior
Early Development Version.
Built on or after Jun 10 2014, 21:54:46
---------------------------------
PlaidGadget is GO.
LITTLE ENDIAN
BIG ENDIAN FLOAT

Running game...
: Registered: Audio
: Registered: Audio_Amp
: Registered: Audio_Pan
: Registered: Audio_Pitch
: Registered: Clock
: Registered: Console
: Registered: Geometry
: Registered: Material
: Registered: Figure
: Registered: View
: Registered: Graphics
: Registered: Player
: Registered: Program
: Registered: Random
: Registered: Plaidgadget
:
: Multisampling on? (screen only)
: Vertical sync switched on
:
: Running task `imitone.key_entry'...
:
Shutting down Plaidgadget..
Task Modules shut down.
Shutting down: Scripts
Shutting down: GUI
Shutting down: Console
Shutting down: Graphics
Target destroyed: 0
Shutting down: Audio
Shutting down: Network
Shutting down: Player
Shutting down: Clock
Shutting down: Randomizer
Shutting down: Universe
Shutting down: Storage
Shutting down: Program
Plaidgadget shutdown complete.
---------------
Active Memory: 0 B
---------------
---------------


[Game terminated successfully]
======================================




(2) Mic Volume and MIDI volume problem.

(This ought to be under another post, I guess.)

I have tried messing around with those settings, but I couldn't get a sensible level of MIDI volume whenever that button is engaged - but I will give it another go when I get some spare time. 

The mic volume and controls shown on the imitone display don't seem to give enough control over microphone input volume range. It would be nice to be able to manually set the lower and higher mic volume levels of the input signal and match those to a range of MIDI volume levels (i.e. 1 to 127 I guess), whatever the sensitivity of the microphone.  I am using a very cheap, what appears to be, styling copy of a Shure SM58 dynamic microphone. I may try my real Shure microphones, and/or even a microphone amplifier/mixer.

It might help if we could get a log of the MIDI messages that imitone thinks that it is sending out.  Inded, it would be a nice feature to have this as a pop-up text window that could be saved as a MIDI output log file at any point. Perhaps also display a one line individual MIDI message at the bottom of the main window to show what is happening at any instant.

(PS I have other suggestions about status & progress information additions/windows that I am thinking of posting to the forum when I have had time to think them through.)

Roger

Last edited by Lee46 (2014-06-12 20:06:34)

Offline

#4 2014-06-11 21:45:34

Evan
developer
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

(1)  Very interesting -- it looks like one of the changes you made caused imitone to switch to your Intel card! -- which then unfortunately failed to work.  :(

Two more pg.ini things to try:
A - try running with both #set graphics.debug 1 and #set graphics.screen_multisample 0 as lines in the file.
B - try running without graphics.debug, with screen_multisample set to 0 and with aa on deleted.

(2)  When expression control is off, imitone outputs "expression" at level 100.  When it's on, that value varies between 0 and 127 based on the upper slider on the volume bar.  The lower slider doesn't control the zero; rather, it's a threshold below which quiet notes will not play.  You can click and drag either slider to set them as you like.  If you want a non-linear mapping, this is often possible using the "velocity curve" function in many DAWs -- I might consider making a similar function in imitone.

Incidentally, imitone's volume bar currently shows a 100dB exponential range, which is a bit over-wide and might make your microphone look rather noisy when it isn't.

The debug log is an interesting idea, though I'd be inclined to tuck it someplace out-of-the-way to avoid confusing beginners.  Consider posting that in feedback and suggestions.

Offline

#5 2014-06-12 17:47:34

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

OK, I've now tried both your suggestions A and B in your last post. As far as I can tell, we had the same result, i.e. an empty frame with imitone title and about 50% CPU usage. I haven't posted the two logs because the contents of the logs are identical to the one I posted earlier. So, no change!

BTW, there is no Intel graphics card as such, this is an Intel Mobile chipset GM965 which has an integrated GMA X3100 graphics core.

I am wondering if the problem is with the drivers under Windows 7. I will review what is installed and report back.

Roger

Offline

#6 2014-06-12 20:05:59

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

I have just spent a couple of hours going through all the Windows drivers and making sure that everything is up-to-date. I did update the Chipset drivers which may affect the graphics.  I then re-ran imitone and tried all the different configurations of the pg.ini file you have suggested, plus the original pg.ini file - and got exactly the exactly same results as in previous tests. So nothing was fixed by updating the drivers.

So, despite updating the Windows 7 drivers:
1) The original pg.ini file that comes with Beta 0.5.1c gives the very slow, high cpu usage, run of imitone and the slow and crude graphics display.
2) All the other variations of the pg.ini file lead to a transparent/empty window with an imitone title, and 50% cpu usage.

Any more suggestions?

Roger

Offline

#7 2014-06-12 22:10:13

Evan
developer
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

Okay, let's try a really conservative configuration...

#set graphics.debug       0
#set graphics.shaders     0
#set graphics.vbo         0
#set graphics.vao         0
#set graphics.fbo         0
#set graphics.multisample 0
#set graphics.screen_multisample 0

(and no aa on)

Offline

#8 2014-06-16 12:49:00

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

OK, I've tried the settings you suggested. The result was apparently the same:

1) imitone window frame only with imitone title heading:

16Jun2014_imitone_0p5p1c_Beta_-_screen_capture.jpg

Note: The blue colour within the window seems to be taken from the Windows 7 Desktop background colour.


2) High cpu usage of 50% by imitone. exe.

Here is the imitone log file (this copy taken while imitone was still running):
============================ log.txt =======================================================

Binary: C:\Program Files (x86)\interactopia\imitone beta 0.5.1c\imitone.exe
Log folder: C:\Users\PC Admin\AppData\Roaming/com.interactopia.imitone
---------------
Active Memory: 0 B
---------------
---------------
Instantiating game...
Initializing Console...
  initializing with pg.ini
Console is GO.
Initializing Program...
Initializing Universe...
Initializing Clock...
Initializing Random...
Initializing Storage...
Initializing Graphics...
char bits = 8
Text is GO.
Graphics initializing...
Displays:
  #0: 1440x900, 60hz
Built with SDL v.2.0.0
Running with SDL v.2.0.0
Initialized GLEW
---------------------------------------------
    GL version: 2.0.0 - Build 8.14.10.1930
    GL vendor: Intel
    GL renderer: Intel 965/963 Graphics Media Accelerator
    GLSL version: 1.10  - Intel Build 8.14.10.1930
GL Extensions: GL_EXT_blend_minmax GL_EXT_blend_subtract GL_EXT_blend_color GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_texture3D GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_SGIS_texture_lod GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_packed_pixels GL_EXT_separate_specular_color GL_ARB_multitexture GL_EXT_texture_env_combine GL_EXT_bgra GL_EXT_blend_func_separate GL_EXT_secondary_color GL_EXT_fog_coord GL_EXT_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_cube_map GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_NV_blend_square GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_3DFX_texture_compression_FXT1 GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp GL_ARB_point_parameters GL_ARB_texture_env_combine GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_ARB_shadow GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_shadow_funcs GL_EXT_stencil_wrap GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_EXT_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_fragment_program GL_EXT_stencil_two_side GL_ATI_separate_stencil GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_ARB_occlusion_query GL_ARB_fragment_shader GL_ARB_shader_objects GL_ARB_shading_language_100 GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two GL_ARB_vertex_shader GL_NV_texgen_reflection GL_ARB_point_sprite GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate GL_ARB_depth_texture GL_ARB_texture_rectangle GL_ARB_draw_buffers GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object GL_WIN_swap_hint GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
   Warning: targets unsupported.
   Warning: multisampling unsupported.
   Warning: shaders unsupported.
   Warning: vertex buffers unsupported.
   Note: vertex arrays unsupported.
---------------------------------------------
Screen FBO: #0, size 500x550
Stereo: 0
Graphics are GO.
Initializing Audio...
Initializing Player...
Sticks:
MIDI Devices:
|-1: `UM-ONE' in
|-0: `Microsoft MIDI Mapper' out
|-2: `Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth' out
|-3: `UM-ONE' out
    (showing preloader)
Initializing GUI...
GUI is GO.
Initializing Network...
Initializing Scripts...
Registering script bindings...
All modules are GO.
---------------------------------
PlaidGadget / Project: Savior
Early Development Version.
Built on or after Jun 10 2014, 21:54:46
---------------------------------
PlaidGadget is GO.
LITTLE ENDIAN
BIG ENDIAN FLOAT

Running game...
: Registered: Audio
: Registered: Audio_Amp
: Registered: Audio_Pan
: Registered: Audio_Pitch
: Registered: Clock
: Registered: Console
: Registered: Geometry
: Registered: Material
: Registered: Figure
: Registered: View
: Registered: Graphics
: Registered: Player
: Registered: Program
: Registered: Random
: Registered: Plaidgadget
:
: Vertical sync switched on
:
: Running task `imitone.key_entry'...
:

==========================

So, no apparent progress!

Roger

Last edited by Lee46 (2014-06-16 12:50:48)

Offline

#9 2014-06-18 11:05:02

Evan
developer
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2014-05-23
Website

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

All right, well, I think in this case the best course might be to update your graphics drivers.

Intel driver update for GMA 965

By the looks of it you're using version 8 drivers when version 15 is available -- hopefully these should make imitone work even under default settings.

Offline

#10 2014-06-19 05:59:17

Lee46
Power Tester
Registered: 2014-06-02

Re: * 0.5.1c: imitone High CPU usage and slow response Windows 7 64-bit

Evan,

Heeding the warning from Intel about using their generic drivers rather than OEM drivers ("To avoid any potential installation incompatibilities on your OEM system, Intel recommends that you check with your OEM and use the software provided via your system manufacturer"),  I had stuck to the Toshiba approved drivers.   But I noted a slightly later release date for the Intel driver and so I took a closer look.

The first thing to note is that it looks as if you may be confusing version numbers. As far as I can see, the "version 15" (i.e. Version:15.12.75.4.64.1930) is the Intel Product Version for the package, whereas the actual Graphics Driver Version (i.e. version: 8.15.10.1930) is a different number entirely. Indeed, if we look inside the ReadMe file for the package, we have:

=================================
*  Production Version Releases
*
*
*  Microsoft Windows* 7 64-Bit Versions
*  Driver Revision:
*  Production Version 15.12.75.4.64.1930
*  Package: 76560
*
*  Graphics:   8.15.10.1930 
*  HDMI Audio: 6.10.01.2077

etc ..........
=================================

And my computer seems to have the correct version of the driver installed.  BUT there is a small difference between the release date of the last Intel driver and that provided by Toshiba's download centre. So, if we examine the latest Intel driver Release notes we find that the need for a quick fix by Intel was apparently only because someone had coded the wrong driver version in some displayed text for the driver. The Release notes say   "The driver’s user interface may display incorrect driver version", whatever that means!


OK, so I ignored the Intel caution and downloaded and installed their latest driver. The result was that it made no difference whatsoever and imitone is still exhibiting the same problems. 

All the reported driver versions appeared to be the same as before! I am not even sure where Intel have fixed the reporting of the driver version as I have no idea what they are talking about re the "user interface". Thinking that I may have accidentally re-installed the Toshiba version, I removed that version entirely from the system and forced Windows to use the Intel version.  Result: No change; same driver version reported, and imitone still showing just a window frame and running with high cpu usage!

I am thinking perhaps that at this stage it might be helpful to know if anyone else is running imitone on a laptop that has the Intel Mobile GM965 chipset.
(If anyone has a Laptop running Windows 7, please check the Display Adapter in Device Manager at reply here, thanks.)


Roger

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB